Wednesday, December 17, 2014

2014 Lifestyle 5k Series Wellington Waterfront Tue 16 Dec

Results to come

Camilla Browne with Michael just behind


A brilliantly fine night meant that runners had to use all of their sidestep skills to dodge dozy pedestrians, kamikaze cyclists, poser skateboarders and the paparazzi. 
Leading out the main race at 5.45pm was Hamish Carson, no doubt keen to grab back his course record from rival Julian Matthews. Behind him were a clutch of elite runners including Nick Horspool, Stephen Day and Matt Dratvitski.   
Ben Twyman made his two weekly appearances to make up a competitive field, but unfortunately no sign of any fast women.  
To top it off there were a bunch of younger runners trying their hand at 5k as part of the Cigna Kids Round the Bays thingy. 
Hamish Carson, 4x national 1500m title holder and sub-four minute miler  14.51

Nick Horspool 15.31 - first time for this event

Stephen Day 15.55 - returns after about 4 years to produce a PB, and Matt Dravitski 15.57

Ben Twyman 16.30

Adam Steinmetz

Tim Hawkes - former national 400m track champion 20.47


Tuesday, December 9, 2014

2014 Lifestyle 5k Series Wellington Waterfront Tue 9 Dec


After debuting last week in a time of 17.08 newspaper journalist Jimmy Ellingham turned up for his second race to win in a time of 17.04. Not far behind was Adam Steinmetz returning to the waterfront course after an absence of 3 months. The experienced Michelle Van Looy was the first female home in a time of 19.49 for 10th place overall.

Rowers need to keep fit too

Jimmy Ellingham

Track specialist Adam Stienmetz

Michelle Van Looy

Monday, December 8, 2014

2014 Gold Programme Newtown Park Sat 6 Dec


As was to be expected attedance at Newtown Park was low due to the NZ Secondary Schools Track & Fields Champs in Whanganui. Despite that there was still plenty of competition especially in the sprint events Terry Hawkins-Collins and Saravee Sos continue to slug it out. In the field events the Kiwi Club dominate in the throwing disciplines in fact it would be a rarity for a thrower not to be a member of that club. Also spotted was Daniel Wallis now reported to be leaving Scottish for North Shore Bays.

Darin Hunt

David Evans

Robbie Hannan

Kullike Puks


Liam Corkery

Hannah McLeod

Marama Butler

Terry Collins-Hawkins and Sravee Sos

Peter Jack


Jo Doherty

Georgina Cox

Helen Willis

Michael du Toit and Grant McLean

Kevin Pugh

Zhihao Cai

Alastair Saunders

William Adams

Jonathan Sceats

Cameron Morgan

Barrie Joslin

Mathew Rogers

Michel du Toit


Callum Wilson


Terry Collins-Hawkins and Saravee Sos